Skip To Main Content

Header Logo

O Castro British International School

Header Holder

Header Top Right

Header Utility

Toggle Language

Header Trigger

Header Desktop Menu

Close Desktop Menu

Landing Navigation



Education at O Castro School British International Shool

At O Castro we teach the English National Curriculum, a system of learning designed to foster curiosity and confidence along with imparting all the necessary skills and knowledge required to succeed in exams and evaluations.  The curriculum is designed to facilitate understanding of the world and the challenges we face. We strive to educate our students to become ethical young people with all the tools they need to succeed in their field of choice. Immersion in English begins in the Nursery class, complemented by Spanish, French and Galician language lessons as students progress through school.  Students receive personalised attention to help them thrive and achieve academic success. Senior students are offered a university orientation programme which incorporates mentoring sessions to help them set appropriate goals, and an internship programme to give them a taste of the reality of the world of work. 


Key Stages Explained

The British education system is divided into stages as follows:

  • Early Years Foundation Stage (ages 3 to 5)
  • Key Stage 1: Primary Education Years 1 & 2 (ages 5 to 7)
  • Key Stage 2: Primary Education Years 3-6 (ages 7 to 11)
  • Key Stage 3: Secondary Education Years 7-9 (ages 11 to 14)
  • Key Stage 4: Secondary Education Years 10-11 (age 15 to 16), culminating in IGCSEs
  • Key Stage 5: Years 12 & 13 (ages 16 to 18), culminating in A-Level examinations

Key Stages

Toggle Language Desktop

Toggle Language Mobile